OFFERING RENT TO OWN DEALS? Smart?

30 Replies

- Did you use a lawyer?

- My house would get 70k if I sold it tomorrow

- What can I get within the rent to own final sale price?

- Useful websites to help me complete a rent to own deal to a CLIENT?

- Should I allow rent credits to go towards final price?

I have not used a lawyer for our seller finance deals. 

I would have them sign a "master lease", "contract for deed", and a "promissory note" for 20k over appraised value. Put it on a 20 year am at 9% interest and require 10% down. (If they can't do 10%, you can go as low as 5%)

Require at least 4 x payment for income. 

Sell the note in 12 months if they pay it on time.

@Cameron Riley I have limited experience with this, but did sell my first rental property in this manner.  I used an attorney.  I only did 10 years with 20% down.  They refinanced 2 1/2 years later.  It was a good deal for us. 

@Garrett Hawk I like your suggestion to sell the note about a year later if payments are on time.  Can you please the 20k over appraisal?

@Garrett Hawk

This is great! Thanks!

Probably won’t do it this way, because I feel as if may be way to complex for the properties and clientele i am working with/in

But it’s amazing advice still.

Thank you

Again!

When was the last time you did this? ( rent to own with a client )

Originally posted by @Cameron Riley :

1- Did you use a lawyer?

2- My house would get 70k if I sold it tomorrow

What can I get within the rent to own final sale price?

3- Useful websites to help me complete a rent to own deal to a CLIENT?

4- Should I allow rent credits to go towards final price?

Answers to the above questions:

1 - No...never had to

2 - Don't know.  Not nearly enough info.  Besides, you will also be getting rent/cash flow which adds to your profit...and could allow you to sell the property for less and still make more profit than if you just sold it at full price.

3 - Many.  Just Google Lease Option

4 - No, NO and NEVER!!!