marketing for tenant buyers for lease purchase {options}??

8 Replies

Hello everyone... Im having difficulties in getting a straight answer about is it considered brokering if I market for tenant buyers before having a property under contract..i have gotten conflicting answers .I am not a realtor so i want to do things the right and legal way.. thanks in advance.

I'm not a realtor; I'm not a lawyer; but I am confident you can advertise for tenant/buyers without having a specific property in mind.  The next time someone tells you that is illegal, ask them to link you to the specific law in the local code that states this.
That said, you're putting the cart before the horse.  Your time and effort needs to be on find the deal, which is always the more difficult part of the deal.  Once you have a property under wraps, unless your marketing is inadequate or your terms are out of line, the tenant/buyers will respond.

Hi, I was having the same issue! I’m so confused about the situation. What I been reading through post that u can’t advertise a property that u don’t own because it considered brokering. Does it vary by state by state basis? I have another question I’m a little confused on? What is a difference between cooperative lease option and assigning a lease option to a tenant buyer? Is it the same? I really want too do this strategy, but a little afraid of the unknown. Really want to take action but the little details that I can’t seem to get a straight answer too. I really want to start with strategy. Please help

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor