Best take to buy a home

4 Replies

I’ve read about several strategies many investors have taken to buy a home and from those strategies, the one that stood out to me the most was one where you use other people’s money to pay it off. Getting a bank loan, finding an investor to lend you money needed to pay off the rest of the purchase price of the home, then rent the home and use the rent money to pay off your monthly payment from your bank loan and the investors loan. Then the net operating income would be split in an agreed percentage between the investor and myself as the finder of the deal. This will provide a cash flow for both. The next step would be to refinance the property and pay off the bank loan and investors loan and then repeat this concept but now with another property. What do you guys think about this? Pros and cons of this strategy?

Also, keep in mind that I am new to this business and this is something I am looking to use for the purchase of my first property. Any tips and advice are welcomed. Thank you.

You have to be careful with how you structure to do what you're describing - many banks frown on you using borrowed money for a down payment, and will ask you explicitly on your mortgage application about it. They view 100% leverage as too risky. So you'd need to structure it such that your partner was a co-signer on the loan, or you had a business entity together that was applying for the loan, and the partner was bringing the money.

You also need to find a great deal for what you're describing to work. In most markets, it's difficult to cash flow with 100% leverage if you're buying anywhere close to retail. That is, your rental income now has to cover two mortgage payments (plus expenses).