What happens with lease payments when option is exercised?

12 Replies

Hey guys - I'm new to the world of lease options. I am having trouble understanding how the lease is handled when a buyer exercises their option to buy.

Example sandwich option: 

I have a 2 year LO with the original seller 

I have a 1 year LO with the new tenant buyer

Buyer comes across some cash in month 10 of the agreement and is ready to exercise the option. 

The question is what happens with the leases when the buyer does this?  At that point the buyer still owes 2 lease payments to me and I owe 14 to the original seller.  I understand I will have to cash the seller out when the new buyer buys but what about those remaining lease payments that are due?  Are they still owed?  

Thanks in advance.  

Originally posted by @Brad E. :

what happens with the leases when the buyer does this? At that point the buyer still owes 2 lease payments to me and I owe 14 to the original seller. I understand I will have to cash the seller out when the new buyer buys but what about those remaining lease payments that are due? Are they still owed?

No, not owed.  A lease is between the owner and tenant / tb / Optionee.   The tenant now is the owner. 

Just as likely, your TB won't pay, so you'll be on the hook.  Bonus, the ones that don't pay usually cause damage. Be well-capitalized if doing SLOs. 

"I understand I will have to cash the seller out when the new buyer buys but what about those remaining lease payments that are due? Are they still owed?"

Have no clue - What does the lease say for each?

Word of advice - BEFORE signing any contract, read and understand it.  If you don't understand it, then hire an atty or someone that reads these.

I understand you get left-field events, but unless covered in the agreement, they don't change the basic terms.