Best Loans for first Rental Property

8 Replies

Hello everyone,

My name is Patrick and I am new to bigger pockets, but glad I found it. This post is really me searching for any type of answers of where I should focus my energy in regards to loans. I'm currently in the US Army and stationed in Germany. With that being said, I am currently looking to purchase a rental property in the states. I am not looking to put 20% down with a traditional loan. I do have the option to get a VA loan, but you are required to live in the home, something I am not planning to do. If anyone has any recommendations I would love to hear from you. Thanks in advance.

Best

@Patrick Briscoe Welcome! I'm overseas as well, and have just invested in a rental. About the VA loan: there is a great discussion going on right now about it -- long and short is you DO need to live there.

I did a conventional loan with 20% down. If that's not your game, then maybe there's a way to creatively finance the property. Maybe it's one that you could find a partner on and do a BARRRR -- or get a partner that would be willing to split a 20% down payment with you for half the profits. But, if you don't want want to  use your money for a down payment, and you don't plan to live there, you'll probably need to find a partner to finance it.