Nashville Market Strategy New Investors

12 Replies

Hi everyone!

I am new to Bigger Pockets and looking to learn more about the Nashville, TN market, specifically duplexes. I know the market is currently hot, hot, HOT, but my wife and I have about a year to wait things out and search for the right deal. 

You see, we are moving back to Nashville at the end of this year and would like to take advantage of our VA loan entitlement that allows for ~$600,000 loan in Davidson County to jump start our real estate journey. We are looking to live in one unit and rent the other as you might expect at least until we find our dream home :)

I have been in the Army National Guard for about 6 years as a side hustle to my full-time job in consulting. Due to us being fortunate enough to obtain scholarships for our undergrads, we have been able to pile away more than enough cash to keep a hefty emergency fund, pay closing costs on a large duplex, and even be ready to find another deal in Middle Tennessee! 

We would appreciate any strategy guidance or pointers this wonderful community might have to help us get started in the right direction. A few  specific questions I have: 

1.) If we can't find a duplex right away, should we take advantage of an FHA loan for an SFR or just use a conventional loan and pay the 20% since we have it?

2.) How the heck can we find good deals in Nashville right now? 

3.) How long in advance of our physical move to Nashville should we consider closing if we find the right deal? We are currently in the D.C. Metro, but my immediate family all live in Nashville and would eagerly help out. 

My goal in real estate: Essentially I'd like to quit my 'fiscally responsible' day job and develop a passive income from REI to complement a lower paying (but awesome!!) job in public service. Also, to give us some flexibility to go hiking around the world before our bones hate us.

Thank you all ahead of time!