Real Estate: Not for us?

23 Replies

Hi everyone, as a newbie I've spent a lot of time reading the blogs and forums trying to get a grasp on how to wisely jump into RE. Currently my husband is AD and we have never bought a home due largely to being stationed overseas and in very expensive areas. We are personally comfortable being renters as it suits our frequent moves, but I can't help but feel like we could really optimize certain advantages like BAH, and VA/TSP loans with the right amount of research.

The problem is we don't really have the time or interest to be long-distance landlords, and with very young children (and more on the way) the immediate time suck of rehabbing and the home chaos of living in a place under construction (if we went the BRRRR route) is almost completely out of the question.

We have largely concluded we are just not cut out for RE but I'm hoping some of you can point me to another strategy. Do I just need to suck it up and figure out how to make being a long distance landlord palatable? What would you do in my shoes?

Try a dividend paying REIT EFT which allows you to passively participate in real estate without the hassle of managing property and tenants

When I was in I just did mutual funds.  Maybe try RE when your location is stable.

I do high dividend, high turnover mutuals and REITs in retirement accounts like IRAs. Stuff with less taxable distributions like index funds and growth stocks in regular cash accounts.

Thank you guys for your service! 

The big thing is to consider your goal. Are you trying to generate cash flow? Yeah, that might mean working hard to find the overlooked properties, then rehab them. I don't have time for that either!