MILITARY MEMBER RE BEGINNER, POSSIBLE OPTIONS I NEED GUIDANCE ON!

23 Replies

Hello all! i will be as descriptive and to the point as possible. I am new to real estate, started educating myself since November of last year, I have possible routes i can take to start my real estate journey but i am seeking guidance on what decisions to make. Im currently stationed in Andrews AFB, Central MD DMV area. At the moment i have multiple options, combined i only have about 4k in capital between my wife and I to use. 

Option 1.)Consider waiting a year educating myself more and saving for more capital 

Option 2.) purchasing my first property with the Va loan in Baltimore/D.C/or central maryland markets roughly around the budget of 200k max or cheaper, live in and fix till my time is up, then hold as a rental property once I move. 

Option 3.)My grandfather currently owns 2 properties in York, Pennsylvania and gave me an offer to purchase his homes below market price. wonder would this be a good investment or stay away? I was told i cannot use my VA for these properties cause its not military related properties if anyone can clear up what that means? and i must live in them which i currently can't.

1st home is detached 2 unit 4 br 2 ba, brick Colonial built in 1902, 2 car garage fenced home, fireplace, but not in use, basement. Cons: my grandfather hack jobbed most repairs. leaking roof, stoop and porch need redone, lower unit kitchen needs complete remodel, 4-5 coats of paint on all walls, reoccurring mold in 1 bedroom and same bedroom needs insulation, upstairs unit you can hear anything and everything, all doors are original that came with the home, also have 4-5 coats of paint on them. small cockroach pest problem (not severe YET), Bathroom needs remodel and sewage lines need repair. Price estimated at 47,000. He stated for the home roughly 2500 taxes yearly (do not quote me, info what he told me). Average rental price for units if i would rent is $667 each.