Recommendations on refinancing a VA home loan

4 Replies

Hello, I am looking for recommendations on refinancing a VA home loan.

In 2010, using a VA home loan, I purchased a single-family home in Elizabethtown, Kentucky for $168,450 and currently owe $144,256. The loan is a 30-year fixed mortgage with 3.75%. This home became an investment property in 2015. The current value of the property is approximately $194,931. The home equity is $50,675. The different refinance options I have reviewed are the Interest Rate Reduction Refinance Loan (IRRRL) and conventional loan.

I have been renting a home in Huntsville, Alabama since 2017 and looking to purchase a new property here early next year. If I maintain my current VA loan in Kentucky, my benefit in Alabama is $340,094, which could still provide either a good forever home or investment property.

Since 3.75% is a low rate, I am not sure if I could get a lower rate using the IRRRL and if I would refinance with a conventional loan, my rate could go up; thereby, I would lose cash flow on the property.

Any recommendations or insight would be helpful. Thank you.

Good afternoon @Andrew Kretz

You’ve done your homework and your thought process is spot on from what I see. With recent news that the fed may cut its key interest rate you may be able to get a similar rate if you refinance. That helps.

A refinance will have some impact on your credit score but depending on how soon you’re looking to make your next purchase that may not be a factor.

If you don't financially need to refinance to buy your next property you might hold off. But if you need to, or just want to free up you VA benefit, I'd say do that before your next purchase if the timeline makes sense.

Hope this helps. Good luck!