Refinancing options on forever-home turned rental.

7 Replies

Hello BP. Somewhat of a newbie here and would definitely appreciate any insight.

My wife and I purchased a home in 2015 as our forever-home for $520K, current guestimated (zillow) at around $625K, with a balance of $430K. It was financed with 30y VA fixed. Started renting it out in early 2017 due to job transfer with a neg cash-flow of $100.00.

Even though we do like the area and we may decide to retire there (about 10 years away, 7 years till military retirement) we are more inclined to make our money work for us and aim to build a 5 rental property portfolio by 2027.  

Can anyone give me some recommendations of either:

1. Refi with conventional (since we do not reside in it = no VA option) to lower mortgage to establish positive cash flow?

2.  Refi and cash out if possible to leverage prospective deals?

Those are what I have as options with my limited experience.  Any thoughts on these options or any other proposed options would diffidently be welcome.  

Just a brief aside.  I have allotted 40K(after paying off some bills) to use towards prospective investment opportunities.  

Thank you in advance folks.  Looking forward to any guidance.

-Mike

Hey Michael. I am in a similar position and asked this question in a different forum. I'll quote some of the replys I received and found useful!

---

Originally posted by @Cody Land:

I own a paid-off SFH in Pensacola that cash flows $1100/mo. Home value approx 160k, 10yrs old. I am wanting to get a 2nd rental property in the near future. I have $30k in cash that I can put towards my next purchase. Curious to hear people's thoughts or experience on whether to:

1. Use my equity position to get a HELOC for next property then BRRRR.

2. Find a property to BRRRR with the $30k in cash and non-HELOC loans.

3. Some other strategy I haven't thought of.