Expat or investing from overseas

19 Replies

Hi all! I'm new to the real estate community. I live in Dublin, Ireland, and I'm currently trying to learn more about investing locally in multifamilies, as well as investing in the US market *from here.* Not easy. Anyone have any guidance or tips? Any ideas? How does investing from a different state differ from investing from a different country (excluding tax issues, which I'm on top of)?

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks! :) 

@Hannah Stern , investing while overseas is doable, but I’d want to know the area very well and have a team in place. Be prepared to travel there a few times a year to check on your properties.

Do you have US Citizenship? That helps a lot.

I would look for more passive real estate strategies. Syndications, turnkeys, notes, and the like. @Charles Carillo hosts a podcast on this, the Global Investors Podcast. Check that out!

@Bryan Mitchell I haven't started looking yet, but I'm from NYC and that's the area I know the best... and I doubt I'll find anything good in that market. I'm familiar with DC, so maybe MD/DC/VA area, but it seems like some of the better deals are out in the mid-west. It sounds like you're saying "stick to an area you know and are comfortable with, if you have to invest remotely," is that fair? Ok. I have more homework to do. Thank you for the reply!

Agree with @Taylor L. that passive investing in a syndication might be the best way to get started in your situation.  If you want to get more hands on and purchase your own properties, suggest reading David Greene's Long Distance Real Estate Investing book.  Good information about finding the right market and forming the necessary team to execute your investing strategy.

Best of luck, Mel

@Hannah Stern