• Real Estate Agent
  • Asheville, NC
Votes |
Asheville extensive rehab and duplex conversion

Mike Szabo
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Asheville, NC
Posted Oct 4 2021, 18:50

My wife and I just finished a big project I have been working on for the last eight months. I wanted to share it with the Asheville area. We currently have a mixture of long term and short term rentals but this project was definitely our biggest. I know it is hard to find good long term rental deals here, but with some creativity and work, they still exist.

We purchased this group home back in February. We found it on the MLS listed for $230,000. It had been sitting on there for 18 months. It had multiple people who made offers on it but no one could make financing or their desired use work. The size and footprint made it a perfect shell for a duplex. After calling zoning, we found out it is zoned commercial so it would allow up to 8 units and a duplex would be no problem.

It is a 1,900 sqft brick ranch built in 1973. It had 5 bedrooms and 2 baths. It was in poor condition with some of the following problems:

No hvac

Past termite damage

Water damage in multiple areas with active leaks

Aluminum wiring

Poor layout

Grading issues

Foundation issues

We did some numbers and estimated the rehab to be close to $100,000. That being said, we decided a $170,000 offer would make it attractive. We offered that amount as a cash offer ( personal capital, hard money and family). They accepted with no counter.

We used a guy I know who is a contractor to oversee the project. I organized all the subs, orchestrated the tasks and did a lot of work. Once we got to work is when all the fun started. In order to turn it into a duplex, we had to :

-move multiple walls

-block the main hallway leading to the other end of the house.

-Create another kitchen

-Create another laundry room

-Create a firewall in attic and main level

-Add 2 hvac units with duct work

-Add an additional water heater