Sidewalk sloping towards house, suggestions?

18 Replies

Hi, I've got a sidewalk sloping towards the house and I'd like to correct it properly. I've talked to a mudjacker and he believes the sidewalk is too old and should just be replaced. I am considering pouring new concrete over it to correct the slope. Does anyone have a better/alternative suggestion??? thx!

here's a couple pics of it:

hmmm. I'd talk to a second mudjacker. I'm no expert but that concrete looks pretty sound to me. It needs something actually wrong with it (besides "old") before it requires replacement I'd think. Concrete can remain sound for a very long time. A thin overlayment might be prone to chipping/failing though. Curious to hear what those with more expertise have to say...

Alternately, you could rip it out, re-grade and put in preformed paving stones

The older the concrete the harder it gets. Old makes no difference.

Is this a rental or a flip?

What are your concerns?

If a rental, I would be concerned about potential trip hazard which you could just level off near those raised corners. If you have water getting into the basement, then you will probably want to change the grading. 

I have heard that foam can be used rather than grout :

http://www.concretejack.com/foam-jacking/

It will be a long term rental, my main concern is water damage to the foundation over the next 20-30 years.  There doesn't appear to be any leakage in basement but the parging is damaged along this side of the house(I've since fixed it) while the parging on the rest of the house is in good shape.  I'm assuming that this slope is what has caused water damage to the parging and I'm looking to prevent any future long term problems.