Replacing Boiler - Plumber willing to let me help and to teach

5 Replies

I have gotten some quotes from plumbers around my area and actually found a licenses/bonded/insured plumber that is willing to teach me the process of installing the boiler while giving him a hand. His price is pretty fair and he's willing to  reduce it the more help I give. This is my first property and have no plumbing experience but am pretty mechanically oriented (I've done a lot of work on my Jeep). It's a great opportunity to learn when I'm just starting out in investing / property management. Anyone have any similar experiences?

This happens a lot with the smaller contractors and one man shops. I'm replacing a boiler too, just curious how much that's going for in your area?

usually, they dont like that because you'd slow them down with the questions. their time is worth a lot, so these lessons are normally not given. good luck.

@Derek Carroll   I got 3 quotes. Labor was: 1500 from unlicensed plumber friend, $6500 from a larger operation, and $3000 from the guy I'm going with. Seems a lot higher than the rest of the country - (median household income $53,046) but here it is $76,495 (as of 2012). 

Just wanted to follow up with this post and say the boiler has been successfully replaced. Parts - $5,650 (should have gone with Supply House in  retrospect)

Labor - $3,000 (I would totally pay this again in my market).

Learned how to install a boiler - maybe not worth much, but I have a mechanical mind and like to know how stuff works in case anything goes wrong.

Experience like that is invaluable. You won't be qualified to install a boiler on your own but enough of these experiences help connect the dots and can be extremely helpful when SHTF. Even if it's not negotiated in advance, I try to watch and pick up as much as I can whenever I have someone doing work. It's paid dividends over the years.

Free eBook from BiggerPockets!

Ultimate Beginner's Guide Book Cover