Anyone own pre-1978 property?

42 Replies

When I bought my property 6.5 years ago, I was a total newbie and pretty much did everything wrong.  Bought when the market was still high (and interest was at 7.5%) and then shortly after, the bubble burst and my property way under water.  Long story short, I tried to do some renovations myself or hired handymen to do the work because my finances were very slim.  My question relates to lead based paint because I am reading about it and I didn't know that if the property was pre-1978, you're not even supposed to paint the property yourself unless you're EPA certified.  Does anyone out there have info that can shed more light on this topic?  I'm curious because many of the landlords in my community do alot of painting and renovation projects in their buidlings and I'm sure none are EPA certified. 

@Karen S.  You are referring to the EPA RRP rule.  You can easily look up the regulation; there is a pamphlet available. 

You didn't say how old your house is.  The chances of it having lead paint increase with the age of the year built. In a nutshell, you are allowed to work on your own property (homeowners are exempt) but you may not hire someone to do work (that disturbs more than a certain amount) unless they are certified  

However, if it is a rental, the homeowner exemption does not apply.  Your best bet  would be to have it tested, especially if the tenants have children under the age of 6.  

The regulations talk about "disturbing" more than X number of square feet of paint.  I'm no attorney or English language expert, but one generally does not "disturb" the underlying paint just by painting over it.  I'm no physician either, but you don't get sick from lead-based paint unless you breath it (like breathing in the dust from paint that has been "disturbed") or eat it.

My personal residence was built in 1923. The lead paint thing never really scared me.  Scrape vs. sand if necessary.