Can I buy from a wholesaler without all cash?

10 Replies

Newbie here. Sorry for naive question. Is it ever possible to buy from a wholesaler without all-cash?  I'm in L.A. looking to buy in the $500k range.  I have about $250k of my own money to work with, but would need to finance some portion  I realize I'm not going to beat out all-cash offers, but looking for my first project, and am ok if I don't hit a home run first time out.  Thanks in advance for advice!

Hi Andrew. Yes it is possible but make sure you line it up ahead of time. You need to find a local lender that does investment mortgages. You could use a hard money lender too but since you already have a cache of cash you'll get a better deal at a bank. I wholesaled my first deal to a friend of mine that didn't have all cash. I new he already had a relationship with a local investor friendly bank lined up. It only took him 10 days to close. Talk to a some of the local REI members or an investor friendly Realtor in your area to find out who these lenders are. They can be hard to find but well worth it. Good luck.

Brett,

Thanks so much for the reply (and sorry for my delayed reply). Good to know that it's not out of realm of possibility!

Great job saving up $250k @Andrew Robbins  ! Not many of us have done that.  I'm trying to get past the idea of sinking $250k of my own money into a single house. Oh, and them still having to get a mortgage. Sticker shock, I guess.  Have you considered buying out of area?  I just can't imagine! 

Andrew,

You can absolutely buy wholesale deals in the LA market with 250k. Depending on where you are comfortable investing you can probably do 2 deals with that amount of money. We have many lenders here that will go up to 70% of the after repair value which means less out of your pocket. This is because there are so many lenders here trying to compete for your business. Good luck!!