Wholesale vs Retail for materials

11 Replies

Should I pay wholesale or retail prices for my building materials on my rehab projects?

William Avery

It seems to take a while to come up with vendors and suppliers for rehabs.  I have a great place for plumbing supplies, windows, flooring, a/c parts, etc...  It has taken me a while of comparison shopping to figure this out.  I find that I get much better quality and decent pricing through the supply houses than through home depot. 

Something I can finally comment on and be somewhat knowledgeable! 

Though I am new to REI, I have 10 years of experience in the wholesale exterior residential building products industry. Here's a free piece of advise for you... NEVER buy your exterior products from a big box store(HD/Lowes). Along with their overall lack of product knowledge and application, their profit margins on products such as vinyl siding, fiber cement siding, windows and roofing materials are ungodly high! Seek out local wholesale suppliers for products. A handful of my customers are RE Investors and I have been told numerous times we save them significant money on their material costs.

If you are in Austin, my company has a location there... I'm not shilling for them so if you want some further advise, send me a PM.

besides roofing, exterior work,  hvac and just toilets,  I buy everything at home depot.  supply houses are more expensive 

and besides...  who else is open at 9.55pm?

Originally posted by @George P. :

besides roofing, exterior work,  hvac and just toilets,  I buy everything at home depot.  supply houses are more expensive 

I find this to be just the opposite.  I get better quality for less money at the supply houses.  This is especially true with flooring and plumbing.  It holds true with cabinets also.