What is your opinion of this backsplash?

14 Replies

Hard to tell without seeing the whole thing but it looks a bit plain and unbalanced.  I prefer doing mine with deco's spaced apart so it doesn't look too busy.  Also I like my sides flush with the cabinet so there is no cut end to contend with and would have used a bullnose end piece instead of the metal edge.  Just my take on it.  Good luck with your project.

Looks fine to me. I trust there there is clear caulk at the joint between the counter and backsplash. Of course it depends on the context. What is the goal? Flip, wholesale, buy and hold to rent? What is the type of property you are trying to present? A, B, C ? For a more finished high end look the metal trim would have to go and the upper cupboards would extend to the end of the counter or the backsplash material continue up the wall. But I am no designer. :-)

I'm going to finish more tomorrow. Once more is done I think it'll turn out pretty good. 

I fought with myself about where to put the edge, I don't think the backsplash should be off the cabinets, to me the backsplash is for the countertops and should flow with them well. 

@Marcia Maynard

This is my personal residence. We are basically house hacking after living here for 7 years.

We're in Lake Stevens, so I'm not overly concerned with looking too high end. However, I really thought the metal trim would tie in the stainless steel of our sink, faucet, and future appliances. 

This is the input I'm looking for, thanks to you both. I'll post another picture tomorrow of my progress.

Post the finished project, I would like to see the finished product.  The material is good and the workmanship is excellent.  I'm down here in south florida and use a lot of porcelain tile.  Natural stone is very popular here.  Thank you for the posting.

Originally posted by @Loren Thomas :

@Marcia Maynard

This is my personal residence. We are basically house hacking after living here for 7 years.