Home Inspection Repairs

3 Replies

Hello Bpers!

So I had a home inspection on the 3 unit house I am purchasing and came up with a  list of items to have the sellers repair. They came back not willing to fix these issues but instead offering a $1000 credit at closing. So can anyone tell me what of the following items are doable as a complete noob to home improvements but pick things up quickly:

1. Electrical work- install about a half dozen GFCI, fix a splice that doesn't have a junction box, and correct a double tap in the breaker box. But the GFCI would be replacing two prong outlets, so I'm not sure if there is a ground line to those outlets. What electrical skill level is required to install a ground line?

2. Install safety cables in the springs of one of the overhead garage openers.

3. Add a railing on the stairs leading down to the basement.

4. Fix a leaky faucet.

5. Remove exterior paint on window trimmings, this is required for a FHA loan. The problem is it's an old home so I would think the paint would have lead in it. In which case, does anything special have to be done to remove lead based paint? I mean aside from eating it...

I'm going to get a quote on all of this work but does anyone know the costs to have a contractor do these fixes?

Thanks,

Joe

Hi Joe,

Some of the things on your list are easy and straight forward,  others not so much.  In the order of your list. 

GFCIs measure the balance between power supplies and power consumed. You may be required by the prevalent electrical choose to ground the outlets and they may not work properly if you don't. This is a serious safety issue so you should have a licensed electrician do this work. 

Safety cables are easy and the parts are inexpensive from the big box stores. There's probably a YouTube video explaining how to install them. Watch it before you buy the parts.