Help! $2400 for a shower enclosure?

7 Replies

I am nearing the end of my first non live-in flip and I am trying to finish up the details without totally blowing my budget.  I could not find anyone to do a tiled shower base so I bought a pan and tiled the walls.  Only one side of the shower pan had a threshold so I built a small wall to cover one side of the pan where there would be no wall and now I need a custom shower enclosure.  I've gotten back quotes of $1540 for a framed enclosure or $2377 for a frameless but that seems ridiculously high to me.  Has anyone run into this problem before?  Had success ordering a custom enclosure online, if so from where? Or, do you have any alternative solutions that might save me some money on this item?

Don't worry, the window has been painted and shower grouted since I took the picture. 

Any help would be much appreciated!

Matt, 

I'm a contractor and those prices wouldn't be too far off for my area. (NH/MA)  I think the only way you are going to get out of paying that much would be to install the enclosure yourself.  I would try somewhere like FaucetDirect.com.  We have ordered plenty of fixtures from there and had decent luck with them, although we haven't gotten a shower enclosure from them yet. 

Hopefully that helps!

Donal

I'd lengthen the shower back, add a seat, tile the seat down to the pan. Build a half wall on the seat end toward the window, leave an opening for a standard shower door hinged at the window end. Look on line at Alumax shower doors, you'll need an end wall but one may fit. That's a DIY thing if you can tile, I had to laugh at the framing bid, they are saying they don't want to be bothered with such a small job, IMO. Get'R Done :)

Thanks for the reply's.