Opinions about ductless mini split heat pump systems

42 Replies

I am tired of buying window air units. I generally buy and hold SFRs built from the 1920s-1960s. Most do not have central heat and air systems. I have put in a couple full central systems and it has been too expensive for the return. I like the idea behind the ductless systems but am worried about the quality, ease of installation and maintenance. I have zero experience with them so all opinions are welcome!

I will have my licensed hvac guy install the first one but I am hoping to be able to do them myself at some point.

Thanks in advance.

i love these type of units, energy efficient and soooo quiet. You will totally be able to install yourself but might need someone to charge after install.

If you already have forced air heat just do what you've been doing and use the existing duct work. These are great when you want to keep a hot water/radiator heat system, not run ducts, and get your A/C.

Everyone I talk to that has one of the mini splits (ductless systems) absolutely raves about them.

I have installed 2 Fujitsu Split units in rentals.  They are common for years in other parts of world (I see many in Europe where the heating is often primary radiators (no ducting) with Splits providing supplemental heat and AC).  I therefore believe the technology to be established and the units to reliable. 

The two I had installed were 4 or 5 years ago and they work great and were reasonable cost.  One was for a 4/2 (1500') and the other for a 3/1 800' (it is really 2/1 with bonus room that tenants use as a bedroom).  Both of the tenants love them.