Would it be worthwhile to become a Certified Home Inspector???

9 Replies

Hi everyone!

So I'm a newbie and I'm still in the process of trying to find good deals and learn different strategies, but someone mentioned to me the other day that I should become a certified home inspector if I'm becoming a real estate investor. At first, I didn't think it was such a good idea but the more I thought about it, it'll definitely help me see big problems early on and maybe even help me make extra cash on the side.

What do you guys think?

ALSO I was wondering, do home inspectors usually inspect houses before they are put on the market to be sold? 

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this!! =)

I think anything that adds to someones set of skills is a good idea, once you become experienced that could help you out on your own projects.

Most homes are not inspected before they are put on the market. it could open the sellers up to known defect issues, and expense.

@Mike D. Thanks for the quick response! I totally agree about adding to your set of skills.

Do you know when they are usually inspected then? I read on a quick google search that they're usually hired by real estate agents and brokers..so does that mean that they're hired right before they're about to sell the house to a potential buyer?

Yes, also the Buyer pays for the home inspection and most lenders require one. Most of the time the buyers realtor sets up the home inspection.

will it help u point out issues with the house?  yes. 

we it help u find deals or evaluate the numbers or talk to potential sellers...  no. 

u have to be well known among the Realtors to even get a call really pocket listing. 

this would be a waste of time