PEX tubing

17 Replies

Everyone that I have spoken too recently in terms of plumbing has been praising this stuff so I did some research and found a lot of faulty material. What are some personnel opinions on the topic?

PEX is great. A lot cheaper than copper and you don't even necessarily need special tools if you use push fittings.  I like the Mueller pro-line brand sold at Lowes because the fittings are cheaper than the other brands.  The plastic push fittings are also nice because they're less likely to get stolen and they are easier to remove.

I have re-plumbed 4 buildings completely with PEX so far and have had 1 defective shutoff valve leak.  The first one was done 4 years ago and it is holding up with no issues.  I love this stuff...much easier than copper.  I will definitely continue to use and recommend it.

Use the thick-wall stuff and you will be happy with it. I was a plumber in college and I always swore by copper, and hard plastics if it had to be, but the PEX they are making now is pretty good stuff. 

I do not like the pex faucet shutoff valves because they tend to screw up if you turn them when it's cold inside.  I like the $8-10 push fitting shutoff valves.  I also like the push fitting braided hoses for water heaters because they also work for clawfoot tubs.

PEX is really good for colder climates, where the temperature fluctuates. Like everyone else said, the price is hard to beat. If you are using it for a rental property, it's a no brainer. If it was for your personal residence, I would put in copper.