If you wish you had one skill....

19 Replies

Okay here's the deal. I'm looking to invest in my first buy and hold property very soon and expand from there. I work as a nurse and I like what I do, it pays the bills, I have excellent job security and I can literally pick up and go ANYWHERE I want! Eventually I want to build up enough of a portfolio that I can transition out of nursing or maybe only need to work part time as a nurse and work more hands on with my investments. I'm fairly handy- I've done everything from laying flooring and carpeting, tiling, grouting, hanging kitchen cabinets, hanging and finishing drywall, roofs, fences, landscaping, minor electrical and plumbing repairs, etc. I'd like to maybe pick one skill and really perfect it, maybe get certified/licensed, something like electrical, HVAC, etc.

So I ask- what skill set do you really wish you had? or what skill do you have that helps you the most?

Great question!

The skill set I wish I had: Electrical. Something about live wires that freak me out, and I leave to the professionals. 

The skill set that helps me the most: I'm a numbers, data, and analytical geek. 

Jon Huber, Real Estate Agent in New Jersey (#NRS0565737)

What a great question @Beth Blank.

Okay fellow investors, this is only my opinion from my experience:-)

I chose HVAC and got the accompanying licenses for:

- Furnace

- Air Conditioning

- Gas Piping

- Duct work

I also have the refrigeration license but never use that one.

Why? It was the only trade (in my state) I couldn't do as a homeowner without a license.

I install a new high efficiency furnace and a/c in all my properties, make sure I point out the value, worry free, energy savings, and benefits when selling or renting.  Average cost is about $1,700 versus $7,000 to $9,000 or more to hire that out.  Adding ductwork to that project for a couple hundred dollars could cost an additional $2k to $3k from a contractor.