Real Estate License- Charleston, SC

11 Replies

Hi guys! I am interested in completing courses for my Real Estate License in South Carolina. I wanted to know the pros and cons of taking the courses and how to get started in this field. I have little prior knowledge about the field but I am ready to learn! Also, what are the best ways to network and get my foot in the door? 

@Lakevia Ingram I also took my first course with Real Estate School of Charleston. It was good. I learned a lot and had no problems passing my salesman tests. The pros are having access to the MLS, saving the commission or making the commission, being licensed to broker sales, building a career with brokering, etc. The cons would be the fees, compliance, working for a brokerage, etc. As @Parker Stiles asked, it will depend on your goals. Plenty of investors are able to build impressive real estate businesses without being licensed. You don't need a license to invest, but you will need to pay a broker or work with a broker in many situations. 

You have to get your provisional license and find a company to hire you for a year before you can upgrade your license to a permanent salesman license. 

@Parker Stiles I am interested in the traditional agent side now, but eventually I would like to invest into properties on my own. I was thinking that the traditional agent side would create that foundational knowledge that I need to know to be able to invest later. What are you suggestions?

IMO, getting your license in order to invest is the slow way. Some will tell you they have nothing to do with each other. If you are trying to get started investing fast, I would skip the license. 

When you say "investing" what do you mean? Buying houses to rehab and flip them? Wholesaling contracts? Just buying long term as rentals?