Turning over a unit - would like some flooring advice

15 Replies

Hi folks,

As soon as this pesky eviction is finished (fingers cross for less than 2 weeks from now), we'll begin re-habbing a small 1 bedroom unit in our duplex. The floors are trashed: crappy carpet with cigarette burns throughout. At first we thought a paint job and some cheap carpet would be all we need to do to get it back on the market quickly and rented, but in an effort to "harden" the rental, add some juju to the place (and thinking long-term) I am beginning to think Allure vinyl plank may be the way to go.

Does anyone have experience with this brand - or suggestions of others to look at. I don't want to spend top dollar but want it to look attractive & have it be an upgrade should we go to re-fi or something.  Thanks in advance.

@Christen G.

I've seen a lot of post of people using this product. I believe its dyi as well. I have no experience with this.  I recently refinished real hardwood that I had under carpet.   The Allure flooring will be cheaper in the long run vs carpet.  

We've used Allure (not the "click" version; the original version with the glue strip).  Very sturdy.  It has been in one rental house now for the past 5 years and still looks like new.

Many landlords like this product.  Very easy to put down, cut and fit, etc..  The size of each plank makes the job go quickly.  Need to make sure the floor is clean, especially if using the glue strip variety.

Possibly the most difficult part of it is choosing the color you want.  We go for the product that's $1.79 a square foot at our local Home Depot (unless it's the Black Friday sale in which case they usually offer it at .99 a square foot).   Last time it bought it it was the cherry color.  I tend to like the oak a little better; doesn't show dirt as much.

Gail

We haven’t used the Allure brand, but have vinyl plank flooring in all of our rentals now, it is really sturdy and hard for tenants to damage!