I want to learn how to rehab

15 Replies

I have been reading and learning a lot about BRRRR's and I think they are a fantastic way to start off in Real Estate as I'm just a newbie.
The problem is that I have absolutely no idea how to do any manual labor. 

So I wanted to know your recommendations on sources (books, videos, free courses) from where I can learn valuable lessons and reach my goal of rehabing a house!

Thank you all,

~Marc

@Marc-Antoine Tessier I think your energy would be better spent on learning how to find a good enough deal that supports hiring all the manual labor out. Or find a team who's experience, expertise, and network you can leverage to implement the BRRRR strategy or fix and flip strategy. I don't know how to do most manual labor things either but have been able to do some j/v's on some flips without ever even seeing the houses.

If you are set on learning how to sheetrock a house or do plumbing or whatever my first inclination would be to fire up the google and youtube the heck out of everything. 

The internet has diy vidoes on every possible aspect of renovating you can imagine. Type a topic into google and take your pick.

Howdy @Marc-Antoine Tessier

I would start with J Scott's "The Book on Estimating Rehab Costs". It breaks it down step by step. It is available right here on BP. There are spreadsheets you can down loan here that is based on J Scotts checklist and Home Depot SKU's. Once you familiarize yourself with the process you can try to JV on a deal to learn hands on. Or at least know what you are talking about with contractors.

While the video advice is good, I'd recommend buying something livable that could use TLC, not a wreck where you're camping till the work is done. This is a long, long road to real skills if you haven't ever used tools. I've been a professional craftsman for 35 years, property owner for 20, and I still learn all the time and cringe seeing work I did 18 years ago.