Does flipper need to be real estate agent as well?

10 Replies

Hi everyone, I am a new investor in co. I am looking for my 1st invest  property currently. While doing my research, I found oftentimes, a flipper always either a real estate agent themselves, or married to one, or at least is very close to one. I am a CPA myself and my hubby is a contractor, so I am thinking is that necessary for me to be a licenced agent ? Thanks for any opion!

I wouldn't bother unless you find you're going to do this as a career. There are time and costs involved with becoming and staying licensed as a realtor. I don't know about your state, but in mine you have to work under a broker for at least 3 years before you can be your own broker, so you're only going to save the portion you'd pay yourself, i.e. the brokerage is going to get their cut plus whatever your office costs are. If you flip a house for $200k, and you're selling it to someone else under their agent, your cut of 6% is only $3k. You might spend that, or more, just getting your license, keeping your errors & omissions insurance, paying office costs, etc. 

thanks Martin! your example explained very well! I agree to keep the license active may cost me more. On top of that, I need the experience requirement which is hard to get. 

No need to have a RE license to invest. The only upside would be the experience gained from working as an agent prior to investing. Now this is assuming one knows nothing about the RE business or RE in general. But, you have a contractor by your side you should be fine, learn as you go. Read, lots of research, network, due diligence and lastly google and YouTube become more your best friends when first investing.

Good luck and lots of good fortune :)