Improving aesthetics of breaker box in furnished rental

5 Replies

My newest furnished rental has a breaker box in the kitchen that I would like to hide or at least make less noticeable. It's about 38 inches tall and 18 inches wide, so it sticks out. Has anyone ran into this situation or has an idea on how to "hide" the box? 

You can install a large junction box in the attic and run a feeder cable to a new location or on the outside of the wall and your wiring should just transfer from one box to the other using the proper connectors. This way your distribution box will be located on the outside of the kitchen. If being near a window is a concern you can always splice your wiring inside the new junction box and run new wires to the new distribution box location to connect to new circuit bresakers. There really are no simple short cuts in accomplishing this task.

I like the cabinet idea and will try that if I cannot find a piece of art to cover it. Thanks!

Disclaimer: I am not a professional electrician.

If you have to get it inspected, the inspector may not like hanging a painting or poster over it.  Sometimes people need to get in there in a hurry to shut off a breaker.