Electrical in 50 year old house - what to do

15 Replies

I am rehabbing this 1st property.  Part of closing negotiations was that they replace the breaker box.  They hired a professional electrician who installed a 125 amp breaker box.  It looks like they did a very good job - I'm no electrician, but it looks better than the previous.

Most outlets/switches are 2 wire.  What do you guys recommend I do at this stage? 

I found this information on Homelectrical

The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) only recommends the following three methods to fix aluminum wire problems permanently

1. Completely replace your home with copper wire
  2. Pigtail the aluminum wire ends with special crimp connectors called COPALUM
  3. Connect the aluminum wire ends with aluminum to copper AlumiConn wire lug connector

Any other ideas from the pros??? I am hoping you don't say rewire... Is there a maybe a staged approach?

2nd post - You guys gave a LOT of good feedback on the insulation / vapor barrier post - Thanks a LOT.

@Troy Welch

Do you have aluminum wiring? Or are you guessing?

Aluminum wiring was only used for a short period of time between 1960 and 1975 due to copper prices at the time.

If you do, and you're going to rehab the house, this is the best time to do it.

If you have two prong outlets, they can be replaced with three prong. If they used metal boxes, the three prong automatically ground to the boxes. If they have plastic boxes, then you just need a grounding wire. If the wiring was never replaced, it's doubtful you have plastic boxes. You can get the outlets for about a $1 each.