I guess I'm replacing the floor!

9 Replies

Whoops! I was just adding in some new PVC under the sink when I kicked over the can of primer. The floor may have not been pretty before, but it wasn't in bad shape. 

Looks like maybe we'll be replacing it sooner than planned!

Oh man that's a mess. I'm a plumber for a living I feel the pain with the purple primer. A little organization will go long way. I always keep my glue and primer cans inside a 1 gallon bucket. It's harder to spill that way. 

A trick if you ever spill it on something, take clear primer to it sometimes the clear primer cleans out the purple. Not on a big spill like that though. 

Ohh geez that sucks! I was remodeling a bathroom with my brother last year and he damaged the tub. I acted like it was the end of the world, freaked out, but I was buying a new one anyways :-D  

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor

Opps, been in the same shoes as you, been there bought that shirt.

One thing I learned from a plumber is to always tape the primer and glue together and then they don't tip over.

Originally posted by @Tim Johnson:

One thing I learned from a plumber is to always tape the primer and glue together and then they don't tip over.

That is a simple but genius idea. Im also always losing one or the other, by the end of a project I'll have 2 primers and 4 glues. All half full

made a similar mistake earlier this year with one or the other. It was a small spot so I didn't address it immediately. When I got around to it a little bit later it had eaten a whole through a vinyl plank :/