• Property Manager
  • New York City, NY
Votes |
contractors, vendors, project payment

Roger Doe
  • Property Manager
  • New York City, NY
Posted Sep 22 2017, 11:17

TLDR: Company did shoddy work that is beneath my standards.  Should I make the contractor come back and do it the right way even though he has to take a loss?

Here is the long version:

I have a problem that I hope people can help brainstorm perspectives.  Here is my eperience.  I've been doing this for a small bit now (10+ years) so I know a small amount of construction but as an investor, I'm not an expert.

Here is the problem:

New contractor.  Steam systems are a dying business so it's hard to find people who know what they are doing.  My usual vendor couldn't schedule so I vetted and picked the best one I thought was the best of the worst.  (Is it me but is it harder to find good plumbers these days?  Plumbers that will do things the right way?)  Scope of work was installing a large section of steam piping.  The final result looks terrible.  I know quite a bit about how complex steam can be.  It's hard.  But the steam part isn't really relevant here.  It's the poor workmanship.  I'm never going to hire this company again (not because of one bad crew but I now notice more red flags now from this small business.

But I'm a terrible businessperson because of my morality, integrity, and kindness  As I get older, these values get stronger.  I hate it.  I don't want to hurt people even though they caused me harm.  I feel the middle class is getting shadier as things get tighter so I don't necessarily blame them.  I feel sympathy even though he tried to screw me.  (I get screwed so many times a week.)  (Btw, dont tell me that integrity in real estate is important.  It's such a shady industry like so many others.)

Simply said, the pipe work is shoddy.  That alone can't violate a contract but there a few things that are clearly wrong so I can get them to come back and fix them.  My options: