Too ambitious to do bathroom repair myself??

32 Replies

Hi all, 

Bought my first owner occupy multi family, and decided to live in the most runned-down unit to do some repairs.  I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, but have little to no real estate repair experience.  I enjoy reading up and learning how to do fixes, and want this experience as I dive into real estate. 

Need some feedback and advice here, is this job too big for a newbie?  What are the main safety concerns?  What is the material/tool list? 

I did get a general contractor to quote the job, he said 1 week, $2k to redo floors, $6k if I want a new tub and toilet. 

- Wet rot down to bottom most layer of floor boards

- Cracked tiles

- Rotted beam next to tub

- Re-sheetrock and put shelving back together

- Bath vanity set aside but not damaged

- Tub is metal shell type, not solid

- I can live without a bathroom for a few days to 2 weeks. A friend can help when I need 2 people. 

Any feedback is appreciated!!

@Jennifer Cheu I would recommend having the contractor complete the tile and floors. To include a new toilet (in addition to the floor) and have him install that as well should cost less $250.

From there I would recommend hiring a glazing company to reglaze the tub and tile. 

After that, install a new vanity and this will put your bathroom rent ready condition.

nah you can do it... but smarter to budget a month without the bathroom.

once you start the demo you will keep going until your down to studs and joists.

do everything new, you wont regret it.

the chamber pot system worked before it can work again.

I also vote do it.  You will learn so much, it will be invaluable.  Watch You Tube videos until you find one that matches your needed repair.   Even if you end up hiring out future repairs, you will have some experience to help you manage your workers.  

Shower at the gym.