Permit for new HVAC system?

9 Replies

I am new to flipping and need a new HVAC system. With the different quotes I am getting, I am also getting a mixture of weather a permit with the county is needed for this or not. This was a flooded house in Fulton County, Georgia. I have been doing most work myself. This is a house that has not been lived in for a while and the gas meter has even been pulled. 

thoughts?

HVac Systems installs always require a permit. In California you need a HERS report from a 3 third party too.

@Taye N. I am a HERS Rater here in California. You wouldn't believe the calls i get from homeowners after a remodel or addition that need to get verifications for insulation after cover up. There is not enough information given to howmeowners  or even contractors for that matter.

I live in Gwinnett and had one of my systems replaced this year by a licensed HVAC contractor, no permit was required.  Fulton may have different rules.  Much of this stuff is county specific around here.  Call the county

@Jane Blake Despite the earlier answer you received here, It is highly unlikely that HVAC work would not require a permit to be pulled. It may be that your contractor doesn’t want the hassle of dealing with the inspector but that doesn’t mean it isn’t required by law. Typically it is the town, not the county, that issues permits. A quick google search for your town shows that all of the necessary permit forms and fee schedules, including HVAC work, are listed there.

@Jane Blake   I do not specialize in Georgia properties but I can tell you, it sounds like you will need more than a simple unit replacement.  The gas or electric connections are the most likely part to need the permits and inspections.  The fact that the meter was pulled instead of the gas being simply turned off is a sign also.