Searching for original blueprints for a house built in the 50's

4 Replies

I was driving around a neighborhood looking at a few listings and came upon a house that was unlike any other. It was down a side street off a middle-class neighborhood and just stuck out like a sore thumb (but in a good way). The home was architecturally stunning so I jotted down the address. When I got home I looked up the address and found that it once had belonged to one of the most well-known business men in the area. I was able to see that he purchased the land in 1955 but am now interested to see who he had design the home for him. Is information like this easily found? I'm assuming public records may have this somewhere but hoping someone has already fine tuned their detective skills and can provide some pointers.

I'm new to BP and was unsure where to post this so let me know if you have a better suggestion!

For this particular issue, you'll have to get in touch with people who issue construction permits and approve plans. If it's the city of Fayettleville, see: Fayetteviille permits

I'm in NYC, and I had violations issued that says "Building not in accordance to plans". So I have to have the plans pulled to see what it looks like originally. In NYC, it's the buildings dept, you go in, give them the address, and back then some years ago, they give you the actual paper file, but I have to leave my drivers license which they'll give back when I return the files.

So logically, if they have a department that issues permits and approve plans, they should have the original plans around somewhere. Now, I found for older stuff, it's still paper filed in folders, so someone on line at the office told me that I might have to make several trips to make the requests because of misfiling. So once, it took me three trips.

When you have the original blueprints, the architect name is usually on them.

Thanks @Frank Chin !  I'm going to try and stop by this week to see what they can find for me.