How Do I Know What To Tell Contractors To Do?

11 Replies

When you purchase you first investment(s) property to flip, how do I know what to tell contractors to do, if I have no experience?

I have some dry-rot repair experience, from many years ago, but that's it. Do I get a project manager to oversee and figure out what to tell the general contractors, in order to make the property look good, so I can sell it?

I wouldn't know the first thing to tell them. I know the property needs improvement, and can point things out, but not what to put in its place. I wouldn't know whether to strip a place down to the frames, in order to move things around, or where to place fixtures, or take our a wall, to open up an area, etc... Is this what you learn as you go, or is there videos and/or classes on this type of subject?

Good contractors will tell you what you home needs either to be functional or be up to code. You won’t need to rip out walls unless you need to update electrical or have plumbing issues that are hidden behind them. If you already hired an inspector and know the issues, just go from there.

As far as where to put things- start doing some research on home design to get an idea of fixtures/lighting etc. to figure out what you want in your home. Also pay attention to the style of the home and pick these items based on that.

Hope this helps.

If you're this inexperienced you should get a home inspection done during your due diligence period and use that as your guide when directing your contractor. Do your own independent research on the various issues that need fixing so when your contractor gives you his scope of work you will have an idea if he's giving you good advice or not.

Thank you Julie and Max. I haven't bought a home yet, just trying to find out what would be good to do, before I start investing. I believe, going with some investors and watching whay they do, will be great learning.