Advice on contractor mistake

28 Replies

I’m seeking advice on what to do about a mistake that my contractor made on a remodel that I’m managing from afar. I explained that I wanted subway tile backsplash in the kitchen. The contractor sends me pictures of the tile to confirm I like it and I gave him the go ahead to put it in. I didn’t think it would be necessary to explain that I wanted it to go in horizontal as that is the common subway tile look. He ends up installing it very well, but vertically. It doesn’t look terrible, but is not the look I was going for. Am I to blame here for not communicating well enough? Should I have him fix the mistake and redo it horizontally on his dime? Any advice is much appreciated.

While i am no expert in these matters this does seem to be a tricky one. It is expected that subway tiles are placed horizontally (as you stated in your post), however if it was not specifically mentioned to your contractor then they used their own initiative (and went vertical). This being the case no-one is really at fault (you expected him to know, but he did not get specific directions on the orientation). I guess the first question is how much would it cost to redo this work, and possibly suggest a compromise where you spring for the materials and your contractor does the work (both at your own cost). You should of course let them know that you are not happy with the outcome of the work as it stands, and a lot will depend on your relationship with your contractor (and if they hope to get more work from you). If they agree then get it done and put it behind you, but if not then its probably not worth making a big deal out of it unless it will bother you for years to come (some people dont really mind these kind of things and others just have to get them fixed). Hope this helps and this is just my humble opinion.  Maybe post some pics and get the general opinion about how they look...who knows people may prefer them that way.