• Rental Property Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Votes |
More like the ABZ's - Review of the ABCs of Real Estate Investing

Heather H.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Posted Aug 5 2018, 11:30

I just finished reading "The ABC's of Real Estate Investing" by Ken McElroy, which is part of the "Rich Dad Advisors" series and has been highly recommended on Bigger Pockets.

The reason for the title of this review is because although it is presented as a beginner's guide, I found that it actually mixes very basic concepts with very advanced ones, without distinguishing between the two. It is a great resource if you know enough to understand what applies to you based on your investment focus and experience level (which is probably why people on here love it), but I feel it would likely discourage an absolute beginner because it focuses so narrowly on the author's large-scale MFR investing.

Pros

The guidelines and techniques he presents are very specific and detailed, and although they are strongly focused on buying large MFRs in growing markets, the methods he presents (in terms of evaluating properties, projecting cash flow, etc) are largely transferable to other property classes and deals.

As a small time buy-and-hold SFR investor, I found his information to be very useful. Although he provides many very specific, step-by-step instruction on essential tasks (such as what exactly to look for when you do due diligence, how to select a good property manager, etc.), the most important aspect of the book for me was actually just the normalization of multi-family investing, which is something I would like to step into soon. I can see why people on Bigger Pockets credit this book with taking their investing to the next level, and it might very well do the same for me.

Cons