Two Units, One House, Colorado Springs

3 Replies

Investment Info:

Single-family residence buy & hold investment in Colorado Springs.

Purchase price: $390,000
Cash invested: $50,000

This property is a 4 bed, 2 bath single-family home with duplex zoning. It is almost exactly one mile east of downtown Colorado Springs, within a 1.5 miles of Colorado College, Memorial Hospital and the Olympic Training Center. We are within five miles of a second college.
We're adding a kitchen to the basement and dividing this into two units. We are going to furnish both units and market to people looking for 30+ day stays (although we do have short-term clearance for this property.)

What made you interested in investing in this type of deal?

I'm a real estate agent, so I actually took a client to see this property. She preferred a smaller unit (a 2/1), but I really liked this place because it had the potential for 2 different units, it was clearly well taken care of, it was on a corner lot and the location was great (the area is a B or C neighborhood, it's close to the hospital, a college and the olympics center.)

How did you find this deal and how did you negotiate it?

As stated above, I actually told a client to buy it but she didn't listen to me. Happen sometimes. :)

We did get this $10K below asking. I feel really lucky about that since there was a similar property down the street that went for and did not have as many attractive features in my mind. Also, this was 2019, before everything got super hot again in early 2020. So, I definitely feel very happy about this purchase.

How did you finance this deal?

We put 5% down and have decided to live in it. Also, we had an amaaaaazing lender, who was able to work with us on our write offs and self employment (not the easiest thing to do.)

How did you add value to the deal?