National Forest Ski Condo

6 Replies

Investment Info:

Condo buy & hold investment.

Purchase price: $275,000
Cash invested: $10,000

This is a one bedroom condo that I started off living in and now long term rent. Will switch it to a STR when these great tenants decide to move out.

What made you interested in investing in this type of deal?

The property has floor to ceiling south facing windows that look right out over the national forest. The location has access to 7 of the top nations ski resort all within a 45 minute drive.

How did you find this deal and how did you negotiate it?

I am a real estate agent and had an agent present in my office.

How did you finance this deal?

5% down 30 year conventional loan.

Hey Damaso! My property is located in Silverthorne, Colorado. There are certainly many condos that have a location like mine, depending on your price point. Have you ever been to the Colorado mountains during winter or summer?

@Michael Healy did you find it hard to get comfortable with inflated $/sqft? As someone in Denver who keeps my eyes open to the mountains, I continue to see this number climb higher and higher making it more difficult to realize proper cash flows - especially once hefty mountain HOAs get factored in. Any resource you used to better understand the STR vacancy rates?

@Damaso Bautista I am an agent in the Colorado Mountains and work predominantly with investors. Let me know if you'd like some incite to the mountain market here in Colorado. Summers are pretty phenomenal, but it's the winter that keeps prices appreciating and rental income strong.