Deanna Lawrence
  • Investor
  • Dorsey, IL
Posted Jul 25 2021, 14:36

Investment Info:

Condo buy & hold investment in Branson.

Purchase price: $190,000
Cash invested: $45,000

This is our first vacation rental. We took it over in the middle of the high season with lots of reservations already on the books! It's a 2BR/2BA unit in a very popular resort in Branson, MO.

What made you interested in investing in this type of deal?

I have always loved the hospitality industry. I love pampering people and facilitating memorable vacations. I have many years experience working in hotels and restaurants from front desk clerk to restaurant manager. This seemed like the easiest path to owning my own "hotel".

How did you find this deal and how did you negotiate it?

I worked with a local Realtor who was recommended by my management company, Evolve. Since the market is very hot (like everywhere else), we offered full price and waived the inspection contingency. We were also the first to submit an offer. Luckily, the sellers felt compelled to accept our offer based on these points. It's very important to note that this deal made sense at full price. We are still looking at a +9% cap rate and very strong cashflow.

How did you finance this deal?

We first tried a vacation home loan, but our debt to income ration did not work. We ended up getting a commercial loan through a local bank. The interest rate was higher than for residential, but it still worked.

How did you add value to the deal?