Skip to content
BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat

User Stats

Votes
Deon Mister
Votes |
Rookie investor interested in how to get started in BRRRRing.

Deon Mister
Posted Aug 4 2022, 07:02

Hello everyone this is my first post in the biggerpockets forum and I'm interested in getting started in BRRRRING. Little about me I'm 37 I work full time as a local truck driver and I'm currently house hacking a 3unit I closed on back in June. I live in the Chicagoland area and I'm looking to build relationships, learn and bring value to others, so if anyone has any suggestions on how I should go about growning my portfolio please leave a reply. From all the research I've done it seems that the BRRRR strategy is the strategy everyone turns to to grow their portfolio.

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Postell
Lender
Pro Member
#1 Creative Real Estate Financing Contributor
  • Lender
  • Fort Worth, TX
Votes |
Lender
Pro Member
#1 Creative Real Estate Financing Contributor
  • Lender
  • Fort Worth, TX
Replied Aug 7 2022, 20:59

@Deon Mister I'll try to answer your question here as best as I can.

BRRRR SKILLS NEEDED

Generally speaking you will need several things to successfully complete a BRRRR:

1. ARV - being able to calculate the Value on your own (meaning, without the wholesaler telling you the value) is really important.
  2. Repairs - You will likely need to know how to budget the repairs as well. Getting a contractor can be extremely frustrating especially if you need to make an offer without even looking at the property. How do you calculate repairs without a contractor? You may need to lean on other local real estate investors in the beginning. Or maybe even just focus on properties with a very light rehab?