BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat

User Stats

Votes
Micah Louden
Votes |
New investor, in contract for house hack, advise on brrr

Micah Louden
Posted Aug 9 2022, 19:52

Hey bigger pockets members, my name is Micah and I am new to bigger pockets, I am in contract to purchase a duplex to house hack and save on expenses, what would be the best way to start the brrrr approach, I make about $50-60k at my day job and I am going back to school and will make around 80k when I am finished in about a year, I am only 19, those of you that have brrrred how did you go about saving money for your first project, should I just save in a savings account or are there better ways? I also have considered maxing out my 401k at work for a couple years and using a “loan” from that to help with the brrrr since it is tax free, let me know what you think and any ideas that would help me, thank you so much! glad to be here! also I could purchase a run down brrrr home here for about 40-60k if this helps.

User Stats

Votes
Gina Shumway
  • Investor
  • Chattanooga, TN
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Chattanooga, TN
Replied Aug 9 2022, 21:05

I am also in Chattanooga TN. While I'm not the best person to answer this as i'm a newer investor, my understanding is that withdrawing from your retirement has to be paid back within 60 days for it to be tax free. Otherwise, it is taxable. Don't take my word for it, however, and contact your institution.

User Stats

Votes
Salla Sandeep
  • Investor
  • Charlotte, NC
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Charlotte, NC
Replied Aug 9 2022, 22:14

Try to get FHA 203K loan in which you can add rehab costs as well. check with your lender if they originate these loans. the closing costs will be more than the regualr conventioanl loan but you dont have to comeup with the renovation costs.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.