BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat

User Stats

Votes
Tycoma Mcfann
Votes |
First time buyer an heir property

Tycoma Mcfann
Posted Oct 19 2022, 02:42

Hello inspiring investor here, I have been educating myself on real estate for awhile even starting a real estate course, then covid hit an as a nurse I could not focus on markets, sub markets and ROI with the devastation so I stopped. I had recently before the pandemic bought my first home rural on 5 acres in a flood zone for $212 (it has appreciated) Had no idea what I was doing an because of that I overpaid and some features in the house like HVAC and pool has never function properly but it passed the inspection and I even pd extra for the pool to be inspected. so I literally bought the house and then began traveling as nurse so I'm never there. Any suggestion on how I can leverage this home to start investing . Also I have inherited two properties from my dad passing in the last month. 1 has 10,000 owed property taxes and the other has a tenant paying $700 should I BRRR these 2 properties and refinance are move in one to save. I know this is my shot into real-estate investing and I don't want to blow it in any way. Any suggestion ?

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Postell
Lender
Pro Member
#1 Creative Real Estate Financing Contributor
  • Lender
  • Fort Worth, TX
Votes |
Lender
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Fort Worth, TX
Replied Oct 20 2022, 09:12

@Tycoma Mcfann wow, lots going on but let's try to address each of these one at a time:

1. Current Home - The numbers I would guide you to use here is 80%.  Take your current value of your home and multiply it by 80%.  If your current mortgage that you have on the home is below that 80% number, then you can take a cash out loan (at least potentially).  If your current loan balance is higher than 80%, then there's not much that is possible here.  You could certainly rent this home if you are still traveling.