Skip to content
BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat

User Stats

Votes
Jourdan Mercer
Pro Member
Votes |
How do you apply for construction loans with little money?

Jourdan Mercer
Pro Member
Posted Nov 25 2022, 12:26

How do you guys apply for construction loans on BRRRR properties if you're limited on funds?

I have about $30,000 for reserves and can only get bank approved for upto about $300,000. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I should go about getting a BRRRR property and applying for a construction loan?

I'm a licensed builder, I live in Massachusetts and would like to do as much of the work myself as I can reasonably do.

User Stats

Votes
Jay Hinrichs#2 All Forums Contributor
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Lake Oswego OR Summerlin, NV
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
Replied Nov 25 2022, 12:35

Money partner.

User Stats

Votes
Corey Mitchell
Pro Member
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Nov 25 2022, 13:06

One approach might be to place a mechanic lien on the house in which the laborers would be paid after closing. The loan would essentially be directly with the company providing service to be paid upon sale or maybe even via installments. This may need legal review and most certainly full disclosure; but with a trust worthy business relationship it could be an option. 

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Postell
Lender
Pro Member
#1 Creative Real Estate Financing Contributor
  • Lender
  • Fort Worth, TX
Votes |
Lender
Pro Member
#1 Creative Real Estate Financing Contributor
  • Lender
  • Fort Worth, TX
Replied Nov 25 2022, 15:51

@Jourdan Mercer ok, this piece is CRITICAL to your success.