Real estate attorney? CPA? Tax attorney? Business attorney? Who do I hire in Utah when starting my rehab, rental, and subect to business?

4 Replies

Is it common for an attorney to be competent in the areas of business, accounting, tax, AND real estate? Since I'm new to rehabs and subject to deals, I feel that paying for professional guidance up front will teach me good habits which will profit me later on, but who do I hire? -please don't say all of them! :`( Do you know anyone that can help me with the following?

1. Develop a business plan and include licensing advice specific to Utah, specific to rehabs, rentals, and subject to deals, and specific to a new small business owner in my tax bracket.
  2. Analyze my strategy and tell me what is cost effective and what is not.
  3. Develop deal contracts and helping me see them through.

Ideally, I would have 3 or 4 references to attorneys skilled in all areas, but that may not be possible.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Josiah Halverson

Sandy, UT

(801) 389-6080

[email protected]

I use a guy in Ohio who is both a lawyer and tax accountant and who specializes in real estate, so yes, you can find a "combo packages" as it were.

Although I'd guess that you're probably not going to find one person who can do all that you've mentioned above.

It sounds to me like you're looking for two pretty separate things, really: 1) a business advisor/mentor, and 2) a legal/tax advisor. A lawyer probably isn't the best person to tell you how to develop a business plan for real estate- they're in the law business, after all, not the real estate biz ;) To know what are effective strategies requires being directly active in the business.

You may well be able to garner enough info here on BP to help you with your items #1 and #2 above.

@Josiah Halverson , my answer to your question is no. There are a few attorneys who do taxes, accounting and law, but very very few. The few I know who still do all of those mostly do tax litigation.