24 yr old in Knoxville, TN interested in Real Estate

5 Replies

Hello all, I posted about a year ago on here about trying to get into real estate investing. I had no idea about the obstacles that needed to be overcome in getting financing, finding deals, etc, but I kept learning and reading and at the same time finding a job where I could have steady income while I continued to learn. I had just recently graduated that previous year in December and desperately wanted to work and provide for myself. Fast forward a year and I have a steady job with income now wanting to take my first steps into looking for apartments to hold and rent out in the Knoxville area. 

I am still focused on being my own boss and putting in the incredibly hard work of being a successful real estate investor in the buy and hold philosophy.

If there is any advice, or wise words that you'd like to impart on me as a beginner here in Knoxville, TN or just in general, I would very much appreciate it!

@Wellington Johnson Welcome to the forums. BP is a great place to educate yourself and learn from others. 

Would advice you to figure out what niche/area you want to focus on. Otherwise, you will be inundated with information (much of it not applicable in your case). 

Find some mentors in your area that you can physically meet with and talk to. I started meeting with a realtor in my area weekly to help her with monthly mailers and organization. In turn, she answers any questions I have and is going to help me work out analyzing a deal and tell me her thoughts when we meet next. Who else to listen to, as well, because the realtors on the ground who have been in their field for 10+ years will know the market the best.

Even if the realtor you meet does not specialize in what type of real estate investment you want to do, you never know where those connections could lead and once you get into the broker circle you are in the circle and can build relationships with other easier.