Networking at your School?

6 Replies

Hello. I am currently in my last semester at a private christian school in Nashville. I've always known I should network with people there, but I never actually considered it until someone told me they could be potential private money lenders. My questions is: How would I approach them, and what are somethings I should say? If anyone knows a specific faculty member of a school that is the most busy and has the most money, that would help! I'm not a shy guy, but I do want to go about it the right way. Thanks in advance!

@Peter Shafik I don't think your in the position to pitch to the faculty. I'm all for networking but unless you already have a pretty good relationship with them and talk often, I would probably be against it, atleast until you've graduated. Network with your classmates, they will be the ones you have the higher possibility of running into again. 

Do you have a faculty adviser? (I did when I went to school.)

Tell you adviser you're interested in exploring real estate (keep it vague at first) and ask for advice. Interview for information, not for a job or for financing. One thing will lead to another eventually.

Originally posted by @Peter Shafik :

Hello. I am currently in my last semester at a private christian school in Nashville. I've always known I should network with people there, but I never actually considered it until someone told me they could be potential private money lenders. My questions is: How would I approach them, and what are somethings I should say? If anyone knows a specific faculty member of a school that is the most busy and has the most money, that would help! I'm not a shy guy, but I do want to go about it the right way. Thanks in advance!

STEM majors will be the ones that graduate and ramp up their income the soonest.