Skip to content
Marketing Your Property

User Stats

Votes
Pavel Sakurets
  • Investor
  • Minneapolis, MN
Votes |
Be careful paying unlicensed people to find properties for you unless you want to loose your license

Pavel Sakurets
  • Investor
  • Minneapolis, MN
Posted Nov 18 2014, 15:41

I posted before asking BP community if anybody knew where to get a list of abandoned/vacant properties. Since I didn't get a clear answer from anyone (except driving for $ and possibly listsource, which I'm waiting to get a call from) which I consider (low skilled work, sorry didn't mean to offend anyone), I decided to hire several guys from CL and pay them $500 fee for each property that they find as vacant that leads to the purchase of that property plus $12/hr plus gas.

But it sounded a little sketchy to me to see if it was legal  to do that or not, because I'm a licensed RE broker. So I called MN brokers' support line and spoke to an attorney yesterday who told me that it was a violation and I could loose my license.

I doubted him and called MN Department of Commerce and could not get a clear answer from a general RE support, thus I  was transferred to RE Investigator that I met 4 years ago (I was invited to meet him once, even though nothing has happened last time: one competitor reported me as a person doing RE without the license under a different Co name. It was not pleasant, I was not fined or given a warning, but the amount of time to collect all the RE transactions that we did was enormous and prove to the investigator that we did everything legally was such a waste of time.) Thus every time when I'm in doubt, I call 2 RE attorneys from broker's hot line and then if I don't get a good answer, I call the department of commerce.