Do you avoid marketing to sellers who are already on the MLS?

7 Replies

Hi,

I'm currently going through my list to launch my next marketing campaign and I'm sifting through (which is probably more work than I need to do at the moment) but after checking some of these properties out, some of them are currently listed with a Realtor. But they've been on the market for quite a while.

Do folks bother marketing to these sellers?

I know there might be an off chance they may not be happy with the current Realtor or are looking for a much quicker closing.

But is it worth it? And is it ethically responsible? I'm a real estate agent but not a current Realtor.

Thanks in advance!

@Frantzces Lys , interfering with another licensee's client while they are under contract will probably land you in a serious dispute. You could be fined, barred from joining the MLS or possibly lose your license. No, it is not at all ethical.

Frantzces if the individuals are already working with a Realtor it would not be ethical to solicit their business.  I definitely would not appreciate someone trying to swoop on one of my clients.  As a Realtor you work hard to acquire those clients and if you do become a Realtor or a member of an association they will tell you the same.  There are several potential leads out there you just have to work to get them.  It does seem that you are willing to put in the necessary hours to acquire the leads so don't go burning bridges that you might need at a later date.  

Joel

Both of you are right! I wouldn't want to burn any bridges or do anything ethically irresponsible. 

Thanks guys! @Jeff Rabinowitz  @Joel Jimenez 

Hey Frantzces,

It sounds like you're not looking for listings, you're looking for deals.  So, there is nothing unethical about going after the deals listed by other real estate agents.  The key is that you shouldn't be trying to go around the agents to get the deal -- instead, just work with them.